19
Nov
08

Today…Just a short post.

I am only writing quickly, I am exhausted. I did my first dialysis today. It was more than I thought it was going to be. *sigh* Even though we did training for the home dialysis, I really don’t think I expected it to be so…..YUCK. Heparin pumps, saline, bleeding, needle sticks. Yes, it was lovely–NOT. I knew it would make me tired, but I didn’t think it would HURT. About 2 and a half hours into it, I started to cramp really bad, my legs started to hurt a bit, my arms *sigh*, I got headachy and nauseous. I think it is because my blood pressure kept going really low–I have always had problems with low blood pressure, so it isn’t surprising that it happened. Now I have to be on the Renal Diet and watch my fluid intake, which is very hard for me because I drink way more than I eat. Before I was on a low protein diet, now they are saying HIGH protein, low sodium, low phosphorus, watch my potassium intake, limit my fluids. *le sigh* I really hate this. CML has already taken so much from me, now I have to watch what I eat and drink. BLAH.

I went to the doctor last week and I had gained 8 pounds to get up to 148, I thought–“YAY I have finally gained weight.” Not so, it was just fluid build up. They said today my “dry weight” target is 140. Dry weight is what you weigh after you remove the excess fluid from your body. And sure enough I weighed in at 141, so much for the weight gain. For those that don’t know. I am almost 6’8 inches tall, and they want me to gain at least 25 pounds. Yeahhh riiiight. That is hard to do when you never really feel like eating a lot, when you throw up after you eat. I was always skinny for my height (The most I ever weighed in my life was 180), but never this skinny. Ah well, so it goes. If I can stay above a dry weight of 140 I will be happy I guess.

I am fatigued and tired, I am going to attempt a shower now. I will write something more interesting tomorrow I hope. 🙂

2 Responses to “Today…Just a short post.”


  1. 1 nytefallen
    November 19, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    We can only hope that as you get more used to the dialysis that it hurts you less, and that maybe at some point, it can indeed be done while you sleep, I worry more about how draining it is on you….as for the weight, well we knew it was too good to be true…lol

  2. 2 sunshines4me
    November 20, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Poor V! =(
    I was thinking about you all day and hate to hear how painful this is for you…as if you needed more PAIN!? Yeah, Right!….
    I do know that it will get easier (like “nytefallen” mentioned) as your body gets accustomed to the process. I’m sure the first time is the hardest like most things in life are in the beginning.
    I have a co-worker that runs a store in Charlotte who has Luekemia, the dialysis is scheduled monthly and she takes a few personal days off around that time. I’m sure she is so used to the procedure now that her body has better recovery time, and hopefully you will find this as well.

    I hope you are not too discouraged by this first day and that you remain positive….that big, stubborn heart of yours will get you thru this, I know it will!! And ofcourse I will be pulling for you with healing thoughts and wishes on my end! *Big Healing HUG* ~ Me =)


Leave a Reply

Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Creative Commons License
The Boy Was Tired Of It All... by V is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://murderousthoughts.wordpress.com

who has been visiting?

how many have entered my mind?

  • 24,604 victims
November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

