30
Dec
08

MRI’s, CT Scans and Barium….oh my!

It never ends, does it? I went this morning for my MRI of my cervical spine (neck), the lady had to put some metal bars over my face (can you say FREAK OUT). It was so hard to take, I was shaking all over and she had to get me out of the MRI tube/scanner once. We finally got through it and had some time to kill so my Mama (who drove me today) and I came back here to my apartment, had coffee and gossiped, that was nice, I love spending quality time with her. We stayed here about an hour, then went back to the hospital for my appointment with the surgeon. He checked my belly button area and said the hernia repair was fine, but he thinks I have adhesions (scar tissue) from the numerous abdominal surgeries I have had over the years. He thinks it has adhered to my small intestine and is causing a partial blockage *SIGHS*. So today I had to have my finger poked (I HATE that) for a CBC, then was sent to the lab for more blood work, then to the x-ray department to schedule a CT scan of my abdomen and pelvis for Friday at 3:00 pm. I have to have an IV and have that stupid contrast dye injected into my body again, I am allergic to it, so I have to take a load of benadryl to keep me from going into shock, PLUS I have to drink two HUGE ass bottles of that white barium shit. YUCK. That stuff is SO hard to get down without vomiting. I have to have one large bottle for breakfast at 9:00 am Friday morning, then have the other bottle for lunch at 1:30, benadryl at 2:30 then the scan at 3:00. If it is an adhesion and it is blocking my small intestine then I will have to have surgery to fix that, PLUS have to have the spine surgery God knows when.

Fuck, can’t a guy get a break? If it’s not one thing, it’s two or three more happening to me. Do I NOT have enough wrong already? Christ. Someone today was telling me that the type of spine surgery I will most likely have will take 8 months or more to fully heal. FUCK, Fuckity fuck. That is NOT what I need. *SIGH*

On the UP side of things, I saw my landlady today, she is a doll and is so good to me. She told me that she WOULD have me moved into the new apartment before my surgery, thank God.  She told me she would be back to work on Monday the 5th and we would get to work on getting me moved. The apartment I am in now has an upstairs and it is just too hard for me to climb them up and down, up and down all day long. The new apartment is on the second floor yes, but it’s a ONE floor apartment, thank goodness, and it’s not like I go outside a lot. I go to my doctors appointments and to the supermarket once a month, woo hoo /end sarcasm. It will be less to clean, no stairs to climb up and down, I will be much happier and I will feel much safer. Here I don’t feel safe, I can’t sit outside on my patio, for fear of my stalker “Dad” coming up on me. I won’t have to wonder if he is stalking around outside and peeking in *shudder*, he can’t do that shit if I am on the second floor and I can FINALLY sit on my balcony at night or in the mornings with my coffee and feel safe. I won’t be a prisoner in my own home anymore. I look forward to that so much.

Ok my left arm and hand are killing me. I have to stop typing. Write more later.

4 Responses to “MRI’s, CT Scans and Barium….oh my!”


  1. 1 D
    December 30, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    and you haven’t even mentioned the REST of the day’s fabulousness… GOD. I am just so lucky to have you with me. I’m listening to you tonight on the radio and you sound particularly sexy. I know you ‘front’ a lot because you’ve got devestation left and right, but you do it good and I think it does YOU good. So, fake it til ya make it.

    I love you. I’ll help you through the morning barium session on Friday. Didn’t we do that on like our first date together? Hey, life with us is unique!

    I love you.

  2. 2 justice4mothers
    December 30, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Hey V, hang in there. Hopefully things will be better moving downstairs.

    I put an award on my site for your blog… it is a blogger award that gets passed on to the awardee’s five favorite bloggers, and so on. Here is the link for the award:

    http://justice4mothers.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/3517/

    I have it bolded for you (I still can’t bold my comments to you…sorry).

    Take care sweetie!

  3. 3 V
    December 31, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    WOW, thank you for the award!! It made my day and made me smile. I appreciate it SO very much, I will add it here and do the whole linky thing haha. I hope things do get better, the move, hopefully some pain relief and FINALLY hopefully getting my disability will start off 2009 for me in a good way. *hugs to you*

    D–I love you honey..and yes I do believe our first date was me drinking that yucky barium. hahahaha HOW barbaric and revolting. Thank you for always being here for me through all the shit.

  4. 4 Mr. Fabulous
    January 2, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    It will all be ok, I promise. Love you!


Leave a Reply

Bloglisting.net - The internets fastest growing blog directory

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Creative Commons License
The Boy Was Tired Of It All... by V is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://murderousthoughts.wordpress.com

who has been visiting?

how many have entered my mind?

  • 24,602 victims
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

